Highlights of the 2018 National Conference

Note: this year the workshops start on Sunday 2 December and continue on Thursday 6 December.

The conference main programme runs from Monday 3 December to Wednesday 5 December 2018.


Keynote Speakers

Patricia Damkroger, Intel

Thomas Sterling, Indiana University

Michael Foley

Bhekisipho Twala, UNISA 

Khutso Ngoasheng, SARAO

Elmarie Biermann, Cyber Security Institute


Invited Speakers


Peter Braam, Braam Research, LLC

Ian Shipsey, University of Oxford

Francesco Petruccione, University of KwaZulu Natal

Matthias Troyer, Microsoft

Jay Lofstead, Sandia National Laboratories

Kevin Brown, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Matthew Curry, Sandia National Laboratories

Kevin Naidoo, University of Cape Town

Nelishia Pillay, University of Pretoria

Peter Teske, University of Johannesburg

Hasani Chauke, University of Limpopo

Driaan Bezuidenhout, Mintek

Suzanne Cawood, eScience

Christopher Perry, Johnson-Matthey

Imraan Parker, De Beers Marine

Alan Christoffels, University of the Western Cape

Özlem Tastan Bishop, Rhodes University 

Wian van der Merwe, Aerotherm

Rob Farber, Techenablement

Francois Mouton, CSIR

Suné von Solms, University of Johannesburg

Alecia Naidu, UCT        
Sumir Panji, UCT  
Ina Smith, ASSAF
Makaba Macanda, UNISA  
Mary-Jane Bopape, SAWS  
Isak van Der Walt, UP
Heila Pienaar, UP
Uche M. Mbanaso, Nasarawa State University, Keffi, Nigeria



Industry Crossfire 

Addison Snell, Intersect360 Research



Sunday 2 December

Workshop: Introduction to HPC (1 day)

Presenters: Prof. Thomas Sterling and Dr Maciej Brodowicz (Indiana University)


Introduction to CUDA (full day)
Presenters: Dr Rob Farber, Techenablement

Understanding Risk in Shared CyberEcosystems Seminar (full day)
Chairs: Mrs Lee-Anne Benjamin (NRF), Mr Bigani Sehurutshi (U. Botswana)

High-throughput, atomistic multi-scale modeling with MedeA® Universal Cluster Expansion (UNCLE) (full day)   
Presenters: Dr David Reith, et al., MaterialsDesign

Introduction to Schrödinger Drug Discovery Tools (full day)

Presenters: Dr Stephan Ehrlich, Schrödinger

Tuning and optimisation of parallel programs on the CHPC supercomputer (full day)

Presenter: Mr Samuel “Sticks” Mabakane, CHPC


Thursday 6 December


Chemistry and Materials Science SIG Seminar (full day)
Chairs: Prof Jeanet Conradie (UFS), Prof Mareli Landman (UP) and Prof Cornie van Sittert (NWU)

Molecular Dynamics and Analysis using BRIDGE (full day)
Presenter: Dr Chris Barnett, UCT

Industry Engagement Forum (full day)
Chairs: Dr Werner Janse van Rensburg and Dr Charles Crosby, CHPC

Optimized Artificial Intelligence Solutions by Intel (full day)
Presenters: Mr Michael Steyer and Mr Edmund Preiss, Intel

HPC Carpentry (full day)

Presenter: Mr Peter van Heusden, SANBI


Birds-of-a-Feather Sessions

  • CHPC PI and Users BoF (Tuesday)

  • Women in HPC BoF (Wednesday)


Special Sessions

  • SA NREN (Tuesday)
  • DIRISA (Wednesday)
  • SADC Cyberinfrastructure Meeting (Monday and Tuesday)

Latest News


    Team South Africa has taken second prize in the prestigious International Student Cluster Competition held at the International Supercomputing Conference in Frankfurt, Germany. The results were announced on 21 June 2017, following three-days days of immense hard work by twelve international teams.

    Read More